Scientific Advisory Board

To pursue scientific excellence TOR requires guidance and direction at the highest scientific international standard. Senior Leadership of the Center recruited outstanding members of scientific community for Scientific Advisory Board (SAB). All the SAB members have been appointed Distinguished Professor at Rome Tor Vergata.

Aaron CIECHANOVER, Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2004 for the discovery of the of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation, Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research in 2000. He works at the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology in Haifa. President of SAB.

Tak Wah MAK, awarded the Emil von Behring Prize in 1988 and the Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize in 2004 for the discovery of the T-cell receptor. Elucidated the function of CTLA-4, paving the road for Immunotherapy and Checkpoint inhibition as potential anti-cancer therapies; and recently developed drugs modulating cancer metabolism. Works at Univ Toronto, Canada.

Yufang SHI, Dean, Medical School, Kunming University of Science and Technology; Director, Institutes for Translational Medicine of Soochow University; Vice President, The First Affiliated Hospital of Soochow University; Professor, Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey, USA.  Expert on Activation-Induced Cell Death in T-cells and on immune regulation and on MSCs and tumor microenvironment. Works primarily in Soochow and Shanghai, China.  Secretary of SAB.